“I Just want to be BIG!”

Being an athlete and topping out at a giant 5 foot, 5 inches, I was typically one of the shorter players on ANY team I’ve ever been on.

After graduating college and finding weight lifting as a passion. I found myself ‘wanting to be big.” To this day, I really don’t know what this means, but I have a vision in my head.

Dom Mazzetti describes it perfectly:
Dom mazz

On social media, I’ve had friends say things like, “Damn, Shredded!” or “Looking Jacked”
I’ve also been victim to being called, “manly”. One male once said, “Do you even bleed?”
referring to me looking like a man…

When searching online for images under “Jacked Female”: Here are a few things you may find.

In my eyes, I am no where near the muscular physique I want to achieve… so who’s right? Who am I supposed to believe?

The answer? NO ONE!

What people decide to comment on about me or my body ultimately has nothing to do with me. Have my friends stuck up for me before? Duh. Have they sent me words of encouragement? Yes. Does the body shaming hurt? Of course? However I have come to the realization that these are people’s opinions. Whether they are positive or negative, NEITHER should influence me and how I feel about my body.

The only opinion you need to focus on, is your own.
What matters is that you are confident in your own skin. Be proud of your accomplishments and make sure no one else’s opinion changes how you feel about yourself!

-DC

 

 

Leave a Reply

