Infrared Sauna Benefits

Whether I’m trying to finish off a cold, want to sweat out excess water weight or just get a good stretch while my muscles are under heat, I’ve used the dry sauna, found in most gym facilities.

Since this is the week of my first bodybuilding competition this season, I hit the dry Sauna like usual. All this time walking passed my gyms signs about having a new Infrared Sauna.

Well yesterday was different and holy cow, it’s going to be hard to go back the the dry sauna!!

During my 30 minute Infrared Sauna session, I decided to read some articles and compile a list of benefits as well as my initial and post thoughts. ________________________________


Besides the room I was in, being very calm and tranquil with beautiful soothing music and a hint of lavender, even the sauna was a very relaxing experience.

The traditional dry sauna is an extremely hot room, with temperatures between 150 to 180 degrees F. This clearly leads to excessive sweating. However the Infrared sauna room temps only hit between 120 and 140 degrees F. “Unlike the traditional sauna, the goal in and IR room is not to achieve a high temperature. Instead, in a far-infrared room, the bather wants the emitters to remain active because infrared energy is only being emitted (therefore providing the benefit of the deep penetrating infrared heat) when the emitters are on. Because of this, the temperature difference is almost irrelevant, since profuse sweating results in both sauna types.”  Reference – Traditional vs Far-Infrared Sauna

The temperature in the Infrared room was pleasant and even after 30 minutes I considered staying inside. I would have never been able to last that long in a dry room.

Benefits:

Stress Relief- reduced blood pressure, lower heart rate

Recovery- Doms ( Delayed Onset Muscles Soreness ), tight muscles, joint pain will all be decreased. As well as the added benefit of decreased recovery time in between workouts.

Relaxation- Reading articles on Infrared, answering emails or getting other work done, like reading a book of possible in this type of sauna.

Detox and Water loss- elimination of toxins, drop in water weight, which gives you a dryer, leaner appearance temporarily.


I throughly enjoyed my experience and I’ll definitely be back for more.

HOWEVER: before stepping into ANY sauna, consult your doctor if you are new to fitness or haven’t used a sauna before. These temperatures are no joke and. Or for someone who isn’t conditioned.


-DC

Leave a Reply

