Common Fitness Mistakes made by Beginners

In order to form ( or break ) a habit, I’ve often read that 8 weeks of consistency is needed.

So with today being March 1st, I am curious who has fallen off their New Year’s resolutions and who has stuck with them.
The accumulation of my fitness knowledge started about 10 years ago

Mr. Crenshaw’s weight lifting class. XD

I was a sophomore in High School and I figured why not choose an elective for gym.
Why did I choose weight lifting over, gymnastics, or team sports, or aerobic?? ( Don’t worry… I took all those too )

But I started with lifting because it was something all the boys were doing. Honest to god, that was my thought process.
I always had something to prove and being strong was one of them.
My love for Strength Training began.

Changing your body and LIFE are not something that will happen over night. Months and years will be needed to form this habit of healthy living. And trust me, it’s a process that you WANT to take years because it will last you your entire lifetime.

While I’ve learned a lot, I have also wasted a lot of time trying things that I thought would benefit me.

Here are a few common mistakes that I found with myself as well as my clients.

  1. No more Magazines!

The images you see in magazines are not realistic and or maintainable!
As someone who has done photoshoots themselves, I hate seeing my finished product edited and changed. Yes I work hard for what I have but I am nowhere near a professional bodybuilder.
These athletes often train or prepare for the photoshoot as well. Over-training and Under-eating are not fun nor realistic

  1. Game Plan

Fail to plan, plan to fail.

Most beginners complain that they do not know where to start.
NEVER walk into a workout without a plan. Walking around from machine to machine will not result in progress.

  • Hire someone who can teach you
  • Go with a friend
  • Take a fitness class

These are all ways, to motivate you, keep you accountable, and help you work towards your goals.

  1. Nutrition

I remember after college not changing anything about my workout plan… yet the weight seemed to keep dropping after graduation… I realized I wasn’t eating cafeteria food anymore!
Doesn’t matter if you train for 3 hours at the gym, if you are not nourishing your body properly, you are not giving it the fuel it needs to perform well or recover.

  1. Focus on compound exercises

There are many benefits of performing compound exercises. Most are total body movements, needing to incorporate your core and back. They develop better strength and balance. Believe it or not, most compound exercises increase your heart rate and can easily help with your cardio!

  • Squats
  • Deadlifts
  • Bench Press
  • Pullups
  • Pushups

pushup Photography by Clarence Coy

  1. Supplements

Often times, when working with a client or friend, they are eager to ask what supplements to buy.
First off, the word supplement means: in addition, extra, add-on… these are NOT to replace proper nutrition, but to aid and complete it!
Supplements that should be considered first are a multivitamin, fish oil or omega 3 and vitamin D.
If your food nutrition is where it should be, then looking into a whey or casein protein and an essential amino acid. ( Simply proteins are essential for your cells to function. Your body cannot produce essential amino acids in the diet. Amino acids are the ,building blocks’ of protein. Without them muscle loss can occur. – We will dive into supplements a little later )

  1. LIFT HEAVY Always

I’ve heard female friends say, “I don’t want to get bulky.”
Male friends tell me, “Don’t get to big”

Listen, Lifting light weight does nothing but waste time. Here are the reasons to lift as heavy as you can perform the exercise with PROPER FORM.

– The more muscle mass, or the percentage of muscle in the body, correlates to how many calories you can burn AT REST. I don’t know about you, but I love burning calories while doing nothing. This will boost your metabolism. Additionally 1 hour of a weight training workout will continue to help you burn calories longer than running on a treadmill would.

– You will never increase strength, if you do not push yourself. Lifting light make will not make you any stronger. It is important to assure that you are using proper technique before adding any weight.

– How do you know what weight is perfect? The last two reps of an exercise should be difficult to complete, but still maintainable. – for example. If I want to perform a bicep curl with a dumbbell and want to complete 15 reps. I want to pick a weight where reps 13, 14, and 15 become difficult.

Remember these things take time to learn, understand, practice and perfect. Trust the process and keep pushing.

– DC

Leave a Reply

